## Message from the ICDE 2016 Program Committee and General Chairs

Since its inception in 1984, the IEEE International Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE) has become a premier forum for the exchange and dissemination of data management research results among researchers, users, practitioners, and developers. Continuing this long-standing tradition, the 32nd ICDE will be hosted this year in Helsinki, Finland, from May 16 to May 20, 2016. It is our great pleasure to welcome you to ICDE 2016 and to present its proceedings to you.

We are grateful to all the authors who submitted their work to ICDE 2016. We received 395 paper submissions for the Research Track, 44 submissions for the Industrial and Applications Track, 22 tutorial proposals, and 68 demonstration proposals. The Program Committee of the Research Track was subdivided into 15 topic-based areas, each of which was led by an Area Chair who was in charge of supervising the evaluation of submissions assigned to that area. Those Area Chairs are: Ashraf Aboulnaga, Christian Jensen, Malu Castellanos, Justin Levandoski, Elisa Bertino, Christoph Freytag, Serge Abiteboul, Patrick Valduriez, Yannis Kotidis, Andy Pavlo, Yufei Tao, Nikolaus Augsten, Vassilis Christophides, Martin Theobald, and Jiawei Han. Each submission was assigned to three reviewers of the Research Program Committee that consisted of 155 members, the Industrial and Applications Program Committee that consisted of 69 members.

Narrowed by this deliberate process, the Research Program features 99 accepted papers, the Industrial and Applications Track Program includes 12 papers, and the Demonstration Track Program contains 23 demonstrations. The conference program also includes nine tutorials, two panels, and the PhD Symposium. As in previous ICDE conferences, all accepted papers in Research, Industrial and Application tracks will be presented at the poster sessions. For the first time, the authors of 68 papers accepted to the Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering (TKDE) will present their work at ICDE poster sessions. We have invited outstanding keynotes to be given by internationally renowned, distinguished scientists and practitioners: Martin Kersten from CWI, the Netherlands, Götz Brasche from Central Software Institute, Huawei European Research Center, Germany, and Bruce Momjian from EnterpriseDB, USA. Last but certainly not least, five fascinating workshops will be co-located with the main conference.

We would like to thank the area chairs, mentioned above, the Program Committee members, and the following Program Committee Chairs for their extraordinary efforts in assembling this outstanding program: Industrial and Applications Program Chair C. Mohan, Demonstrations Chair Stefan Manegold, Workshop and Tutorial Co-Chairs Giovanna Guerrini and Georgia Koutrika, Panel Chair Divesh Srivastava, TKDE Posters Chair Xuemin Lin, IEEE CS Liason Umeshwar Dayal, and PhD Symposium Co-Organizers Paolo Missier and Alkis Simitsis.

We would like to extend our sincere appreciation for the outstanding work contributed over many months by the Organizing Committee: Local Organization Chair Sami El-Mahgary, Publicity Chair Antoni Wolski, Web Chair Anna Yarygina, and Sponsorship Chair for North America Malu Castellanos. We also wish to express our appreciation to the CMT team at Microsoft for their assistance.

We would like to emphasize that the success of ICDE 2016 would not have been possible without the support of many committed volunteers who generously contributed their time, expertise, and resources toward making the conference an unqualified success.

i

continues ...

It has been our honor and privilege to work with such a devoted and talented group of people who genuinely care about ICDE and the data management research community. Without the contributions of each of them, the conference could not have happened. We also gratefully acknowledge the financial support of our sponsors. Finally, we thank all presenters and conference attendees for their participation.

We hope you enjoy the conference!

ICDE 2016 Program Committee Chairs: Mei Hsu, HP Labs, USA Alfons Kemper, Technische Universität München, Germany Timos Sellis, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

ICDE 2016 General Chairs: Boris Novikov, Saint Petersburg University, Russia Eljas Soisalon-Soininen, Aalto University, Finland