IEEE PHOTONICS TECHNOLOGY LETTERS

IEEE PHOTONICS TECHNOLOGY LETTERS is published by the IEEE Photonics Society. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society and will receive the LETTERS upon payment of the annual Society membership fee of \$34.00, plus an annual subscription fee of \$75.00. For information on joining, write to the IEEE at the address below. Member copies of Transactions/Journals are for personal use only.

IEEE PHOTONICS SOCIETY Board of Governors

A. LARSSON

X LI

2013-2015

J. AITCHISON M. DAWSON

M. NAKAZAWA M. WU

2014-2016

W. CHOW

L. CHROSTOWSKI

2015-2017 **B.** EGGLETON

C. Lim K. HAGIMOTO

P. NOUCHI

Officers

D. NOVAK, President P. SMOWTON, Secretary-Treasurer H. KUWAHARA, Past President K. CHOQUETTE, President Elect Executive Office-C. JANNUZZI, Executive Director

P. JUODAWLKIS, Membership D. PLANT, Conferences M. GLICK, Finance & Administration A.C. COLEMAN, Publications K. CHOQUETTE, Technical Affairs

Editors

N. DUTTA, Photonics Journal L.F. LESTER, Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics P. WINZER, Journal of Lightwave Technology L. CHEN, Photonics Society Newsletter

A. HAWKINS, Journal of Quantum Electronics

S. SAVORY, Photonics Technology Letters

A. NATHAN, Journal of Display Technology

Publications Council

R. TKACH F. BARTOLI C. JAGADISH

A. M. J. TON KOONEN N JOKERST A. C. COLEMAN

IEEE PHOTONICS TECHNOLOGY LETTERS—SEB SAVORY, Editor (2015-2017)

HOWARD E. MICHEL, President BARRY L. SHOOP, President-Elect PARVIZ FAMOURI, Secretary JERRY L. HUDGINS, Treasurer ROBERTO DE MARCA, Past President

IEEE Officers

SAURABH SINHA, Vice President, Educational Activities SHEILA HEMAMI, Vice President, Publication Services and Products WAI-CHOONG WONG, Vice President, Member and Geographic Activities BRUCE P. KRAEMER, President, Standards Association VINCENZO PIURI, Vice President, Technical Activities JAMES A. JEFFRIES, President, IEEE-USA

ELLEN J. YOFFA, Director, Division I

IEEE Executive Staff

DR. E. JAMES PRENDERGAST, Executive Director & Chief Operating Officer

THOMAS SIEGERT, Business Administration ELENA GERSTMANN, Corporate Activities DOUGLAS GORHAM, Educational Activities EILEEN M. LACH, General Counsel & Corporate Compliance Officer SHANNON JOHNSTON, Human Resources CHRIS BRANTLEY, IEEE-USA

THOMAS SIEGERT, Business Administration ELENA GERSTMANN, Corporate Activities DOUGLAS GORHAM, Educational Activities EILEEN M. LACH, General Counsel & Corporate Compliance Officer SHANNON JOHNSTON, Human Resources CHRIS BRANTLEY, IEEE-USA

IEEE Periodicals Transactions/Journals Department

Senior Director: FRAN ZAPPULLA Editorial Director: DAWN MELLEY Production Director: PETER M. TUOHY Managing Editor: JEFFREY E. CICHOCKI Journals Coordinator EILEEN MCGUINNESS

Vice Presidents