JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY

www.ieee-jlt.org

This JOURNAL is a joint publication of The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and The Optical Society (OSA). IEEE/OSA JOURNAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE

> JAY WIESENFELD (OSA) Chairperson CHRISTOPHER DOERR (OSA) JOHN LEE (IEEE)

PAUL SHUMATE (IEEE) PETER WINZER, Editor-in-Chief

JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

PETER WINZER

JLT Editorial Office

IEEE, Photonics Society 445 Hoes Lane Piscataway, NJ 08854-4141

For questions regarding manuscript submission, manuscript status, or any other JLT information, please contact:

Douglas M. Razzano Associate Executive Director Tel: +1 732 465 5863 Fax: +1 732 562 8434 E-mail: d.razzano@ieee.org

Douglas Hargis LISA MANTERIA Publications Administrator Editorial Office Asst. Tel: +1 732 562 6829 Tel: +1 732 562 6662 Fax: +1 732 981 1138 Fax: +1 732 981 1138 E-mail: d.hargis@ieee.org E-mail: 1.manteria@ieee.org

DEPUTY EDITORS

IOANNIS TOMKOS Ming-Iun Li **Е**ІІМІО КОУАМА Athens Information Technology Ctr. Corning Inc. Tokyo Inst. of Technology

Lasers and Devices

Andreas Beling (2014–2016) Univ. of Virginia Anders Larsson (2014–2016) Chalmers Univ. Technology Hai-Feng Liu (2014–2016)

Intel Corp. Tien-Chang Lu (2014–2016) National Chiao Tung Univ.

MARTIN SCHELL (2014-2016) Fraunhofer Institute DIN PING TSAI (2016-2018) National Taiwan Univ.

Hiroshi Yamazaki (2016–2018) NTT Device Technology Laboratories Fibers Kazi Abedin (2014–2016) **OFS Optics**

HANNE LUDVIGSEN (2014-2016) Aalto Univ.

Networks/Switching Andrea Bianco (2014–2016) Politecnico di Torino ALEXANDER WAI (2016–2018) Hong Kong Polytechnic Univ. ELAINE WONG (2014-2016)

Univ. of Melbourne Sensors

Andrea Cusano (2014–2016)

Univ. of Sannio ZUYUAN HE (2014–2016) Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ.

ASSOCIATE EDITORS Sensors (continued)

Luc Thevenaz (2016–2018) Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

Subsystems and Systems

Anjali Agarwal (2016–2018) Applied Comm. Sciences Nikola Alic (2016–2018) Univ. of California, San Diego Cristian Antonelli (2014–2016) Univ. of L'Aquila Gabriella Bosco (2014–2016)

Politecnico di Torino DAVE CAPLAN (2016-2018) MIT Lincoln Labs

HARALD HAAS (2014–2016) Univ. of Edinburgh

Subsystems and Systems (continued)

ROBERT KILLEY (2014-2016) Univ. College London TON KOONEN (2016-2018) TU Eindhoven ROLAND RYF (2014–2016) Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent

Idelfonso Tafur Monroy (2014–2016) Technical Univ. of Denmark

LINDA THOMAS (2014–2016) Naval Research Lab MICHAEL VASILYEV (2014–2016)

Univ. of Texas, Arlington Chongjin Xie (2016-2018) Alibaba

IEEE JOURNAL STEERING COMMITTEE

Aerospace & Elec. Sys. Soc. MICHAEL A. CARDINALE (Secretary 2016) MICHAEL RICE (2016)

Microwave Theory & Techniques Soc.

Ed Ackerman (2016) ADIL KARIM (2016)

Instrumentation & Measurement Soc. Branislav Djokic (2016) GEORGE XIAO (2016)

Photonics Society GEE-KUNG CHANG (2016) PAUL SHUMATE (Treasurer) (2016) Communications Soc. KAREN LIU (2016) PATRICK R. TRISCHITTA (2016)

Ultrasonics, Ferroelectronics, and Frequency Control

JOHN N. LEE (Chairperson) (2016) XUEDING WANG (2016)

Electron Devices Soc. JOHN DALLESASSE (2016) Yeshaiahu Fainman (2016)

CONNIE CHANG-HASNAIN (Past Editor-in-Chief)

Peter Winzer (Editor-in-Chief)

2016 IEEE OFFICERS

Dr. E. James Prendergast, Executive Director & Chief Operating Officer

HOWARD E. MICHEL, President BARRY L. SHOOP, President-Elect PARVIZ FAMOURI, Secretary JERRY L. HUDGINS, Treasurer ROBERTO DE MARCA, Past President

Saurabh Sinha, Vice President, Educational Activities Sheila Hemami, Vice President, Publication Services and Products

Wai-Choong Wong, Vice President, Member and Geographic Activities BRUCE P. KRAEMER. President. Standards Association

VINCENZO PIURI, Vice President, Technical Activities JAMES A. JEFFRIES, President, IEEE-USA JOHN W. WALZ, Director, Division VIII—Computer

OSA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

ALAN WILLNER, President ERIC MAZUR, President-Elect IAN WALMSLEY, Vice President PHILIP RUSSELL, Past President GEORGE BAYZ, Treasurer

ELIZABETH A. ROGAN, Chief Executive Officer MELANIE CAMPBELL, Chair, International Council David Fittinghoff, Chair, Meetings Council ALEX FONG, Chair, OSA Industry Development Associates GROOT GREGORY, Chair, Member and Education Services Council

JOSEPH N. MAIT, Chair, Publications Council

IEEE Periodicals

Transactions/Journals Department

Senior Director, Publishing Operations: FRAN ZAPPULLA

Director, Editorial Services: DAWN MELLEY Director, Production Services: Peter M. Tuohy

Associate Director, Editorial Services: WILLIAM A. COLACCHIO Associate Director, Information Conversion and Editorial Support: Kevin Lisankie Managing Editor: Mona Mittra Journals Coordinator: Andreanna McLean