# JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY

This JOURNAL is a joint publication of the IEEE and Optical Society of America. Members of the IEEE sponsoring societies (listed below) may subscribe to this JOURNAL for an annual fee of \$35; members of OSA may subscribe for an annual fee of \$56. Additional subscription information and an order form are included on the inside back cover of this JOURNAL. Member copies of Transactions/Journals are for personal use only.

### IEEE/OSA JOURNAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE

DANIEL A. NOLAN (OSA), Chairperson RICHARD A. LINKE (OSA) KAREN LIU (IEEE) JOHN LEE (IEEE); BERNARD P. GOLLOMP (IEEE) ALAN E. WILLNER, Editor

#### JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

ALAN E. WILLNER

All manuscripts, correspondence, and communication should be directed to:

JLT Editorial Office

IEEE/LEOS

445 Hoes Lane

Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331

For questions regarding manuscript submission, manuscript status,

or any other JLT information, please contact: Douglas Hargis Linda Matarazzo

Publications Coordinator Manager, LEOS Publications Tel: +1 732 562 6829 Tel: +1 732 562 3910 Fax: +1 732 981 1138 Fax: +1 732 981 1138 E-mail: l.matarazzo@ieee.org

E-mail: d.hargis@ieee.org

System/Networks

Corvis Corporation

DALMA NOVAK

(2002-2004)

ASSOCIATE EDITORS Nanophotonics

Fibers/Passive Components CHENNUPATI JAGADISH YOSHINORI HIBINO (2003-2005)(2003-2005)Aust. Nat. Univ. NTT Photonics Lab. EDWARD H. SARGENT MING-JUN LI (2004-2006)

KAIST

(2002-2004)Univ. Toronto Corning, Inc. Systems Sensors/Active YUN C. CHUNG (2002–2004) Components

KENT B. ROCHFORD (2002-2004)NIST

Networks/Switching Opto-Electronics/ Semiconductor Lasers DAVID K. HUNTER **Integrated Optics** JAMES HARRIS (2004-2006) P. HALE (2002-2004)(2004-2006) Univ. Essex Stanford Univ. NIST Theory MARY PHILLIPS (2002-2004)ROEL BAETS Hugo E. Northwestern Univ. (2004-2006)HERNANDEZ-FIGUEROA

Univ. Ghent-IMEC (2004-2006)ÙNICAMP Systems/Subsystems MASATOSHI SUZUKI CURTIS R. MENYUK (2002-2004)(2004-2006)KDD R&D Labs Univ. Maryland

#### PARTICIPATING ORGANIZATIONS OPTICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA AND THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, INC. IEEE JOURNAL STEERING COMMITTEE

Aerospace & Elec. Sys. Soc. DONALD J. CHANNIN (2004) MICHAEL CARDINALE (2004)

Active/Passive

BRUCE NYMAN (2003-2005)

Components

JDS Uniphase, Inc.

JULIAN B. SOOLE

ALAN J. ROGERS

TriQuint Optoelectronics

(2002-2004)

(2002-2004)

Univ. Surrey

Sensors

Microwave Theory & Techniques Soc. James Plourde (2004) PAUL YU (2004)

Instrumentation & Measurement Soc. BERNARD P. GOLLOMP (Secretary) (2004) ILAN GOLECKI (2004)

Lasers and Electrooptics Soc. GEE-KUNG CHANG (2004) CHRISTI MADSEN (2004)

Communications Soc. PATRICK R. TRISCHITTA (2004) KAREN LIU (Chairperson) (2004)

Ultrasonics, Ferroelectronics, and Frequency Control JOHN N. LEE (Treasurer) (2004)

DAVID L. HECHT (2004)

Electron Devices Soc. Leda Lunardi (2004) CHENNUPATI JAGADISH (2004)

Ex Officio ALAN E. WILLNER (Editor-in-Chief) ROD C. ALFERNESS (Past Editor-in-Chief)

#### IEEE OFFICERS

ARTHUR W. WINSTON, President W. CLEON ANDERSON. President-Elect MOHAMED EL-HAWARY, Secretary PEDRO A. RAY, Treasurer MICHAEL S. ADLER, Past President JAMES M. TIEN, Vice President, Educational Activities MICHAEL R. LIGHTNER, Vice President, Publication Services and Products MARC T. APTER, Vice President, Regional Activities JAMES T. CARLO, President, IEEE Standards Association RALPH W. WYNDRUM, Vice President, Technical Activities JOHN W. STEADMAN, President, IEEE-USA

## **OSA 2004 OFFICERS**

PETER L. KNIGHT, President SUSAN HOUDE-WALTER, President-Elect ERIC W. VAN STRYLAND, Vice President G. MICHAEL MORRIS, Past President STEPHEN D. FANTONE, Treasurer ELIZABETH A. ROGAN, Executive Director JOSEPH EBERLY, Chair, Board of Editors DAVID HARDWICK, Chair, Corporate Associates JENNIFER D. KRUSCHWITZ, Chair, Member and Education Services LENORE MCMACKIN and ALEXANDER GAETA, Co-Chairs, Science and Engineering Council BAHAA A. SALEH, Chair, Publications Council ANGELA M. GUZMAN, Chair, International Council

#### **IEEE Periodicals**

Transactions/Journals Department

Staff Director: FRAN ZAPPULLA Editorial Director: DAWN MELLEY Production Director: ROBERT SMREK Managing Editor: WILLIAM A. COLACCHIO Associate Editor: CHRISTINE M. VARTANIAN

JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY (ISSN 0733-8724) is published monthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Responsibility for the contents rest upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society/Council, or its members. IEEE Corporate Office, 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997. IEEE Operations Center, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. NJ Telephone: +1 732 981 0060. Price/Publication Information: Individual copies: IEEE Members \$20.00 (first copy only), nonmembers \$91.00 per copy. (Note: Postage and handling charge not included.) Member and nonmember subscription prices available on request. Available in microfiche and microfilm. Copyright and Reprint Permissions: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy for private use of patrons, provided the per copy fee indicated in the code at the bottom of the first page is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 29 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970. For all other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write to Copyrights and Permissions Department, IEEE Publications Administration, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. Copyright © 2004 by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at New York, NY, and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, IEEE, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. GST Registration No. 125634188. Printed in U.S.A.