## IEEE COMPUTER GROUP

The Computer Group is an association of IEEE members with professional interest in the field of Electronic Computers. All IEEE members are eligible for membership, and will receive all Group publications upon payment of a fee of \$4.00 per year. Members of certain professional societies are eligible to be Affiliates of The Computer Group.

#### **OFFICERS**

KEITH W. UNCAPHER, Chairman The RAND Corporation Santa Monica, Calif.

G. L. HOLLANDER, Vice Chairman Hollander Associates Fullerton, Calif. E. C. Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer
The Bendix Corporation
Southfield, Mich.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE

Term Ending 1965

W. R. BEAM S. B. DISSON J. R. HARRIS L. C. HOBBS R. M. KALB J. L. MITCHELL
R. J. PREISS
W. D. ROWE
R. M. STEWART, JR.
W. H. WARE
T. J. WILLIAMS

T. H. BONN
D. L. HOGAN
G. L. HOLLANDER
R. W. HOUSE
E. C. JOHNSON

Term Ending 1966

S. Levine
E. J. McCluskey, Jr.
W. N. Papian
M. Rubinoff
R. I. Tanaka
K. W. Uncapher

AFIPS DIRECTORS FOR IEEE

W. L. Anderson A. A. Cohen C. A. R. KAGAN G. L. HOLLANDER

## TECHNICAL COMMITTEES

Computer Systems

D. L. Hogan, Chairman Automation Processes

T. J. Williams, Chairman

Application to Design, Evaluation and Simulation

G. T. JACOBI, Chairman

Data Acquisition and Transformation

C. A. WALTON, Chairman

Design Automation

J. L. Neese, Chairman

Computer Standards

R. M. Kalb, Chairman

Computer Elements

W. R. Beam, Chairman

Logic and Switching Circuit Theory

E. J. McCluskey, Jr., Chairman

Reliability

H. H. Green, Chairman Management Data Applications

C. A. Strom, Jr., Chairman

West Coast

G. Wolfe, Jr., Chairman

Computer Programming

R. W. House, Chairman

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

Awards

Chairman R. J. Preiss

Chapters Activities

L. C. Hobbs, Chairman Conferences and Meetings

Co-Chairmen

S. LEVINE W. T. MURRAY

Fellows Committee

J. P. Eckert, Chairman

Group Objectives

A. A. COHEN, Chairman

Membership

J. R. Harris, Chairman

New Activities

W. D. Rowe, Chairman

Publications

T. H. Bonn, Chairman

Student Activities

R. M. Stewart, Jr., Chairman

# EDITORIAL BOARD

Norman R. Scott, Editor-in-Chief John E. Sherman, Associate Editor for Analog and Hybrid Computers Robert C. Minnick, Associate Editor for Logic and Switching Theory Thomas C. Bartee, Reviews Editor

## IEEE Transactions® on Electronic Computers

Published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for the Computer Group, Box A, Lenox Hill Station, New York, N. Y. 10021. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Group, or its members. Individual copies, except special issues, may be purchased at the following prices: IEEE members (one copy) \$2.25, libraries and colleges \$3.25, all others \$4.50. Annual subscription price: libraries and colleges \$12.75; nonmembers \$17.00. Address requests to the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Box A, Lenox Hill Station, New York, N. Y. 10021.

Notice to Authors: Address all papers and editorial correspondence to the appropriate Editor. Addresses are listed on inside back cover. To avoid delay and inconvenience in the processing of manuscripts, please follow the procedure suggested there.

COPYRIGHT © 1965—THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, INC.
Printed in U.S.A.