Communications

Director of Publications

Joseph Garodnick Stern Telecommunications Corp. 50 West 40 Street New York, NY 10018 (212) 719-4555

Editor

Fred J. Ricci IBM Federal Systems 1701 N. Ft. Myer Dr. Arlington, VA 22209

Managing Editor

Carol M. Lof 345 East 47 Street New York, NY 10017

Production Manager

Carolyne Elenowitz IEE

345 East 47 Street New York, NY 10017

Editorial Staff

Sr. Technical Editor

Thomas J. Plevyak Western Electric Morristown, NJ

Technical Associate Editors

Thomas J. Aprille Bell Lahs N. Andover, MA

Eugene Kaiser Defense Communication Agency Reston, VA

Joseph Marchese IBM, Gaithersburg, MD

Laurence B. Milstein Univ. California, San Diego, CA Subbarayan Pasupathy Univ. Toronto, Toronto, Ont., Canada Donald Ucci

State Univ. NY, Stony Brook, NY

Associate Editors

Book Reviews Editor Andrew Sekey Univ. California, Santa Barbara, CA Gentle Diversions Francis S. Hill Univ. Massachusetts, Amherst, MA

News and Events Victor B. Lawrence Bell Labs., Holmdel, NJ

U.S. Abstracts Dipankar Raychaudhuri RCA Labs., Princeton, NJ

International Abstracts Peter J. McLane Queen's Univ., Kingston, Ont., Canada Short Courses Mohammed Arozullah Clarkson College, Potsdam, NY

European Correspondent Harry Rudin IBM, Zurich

Asian Correspondent Noriyoshi Kuroyanagi NT&T, Tokyo

Production /Art Staff

Senior Editorial Asst. Stephen R. Best

Designer Ken Olsen Visual Communications Technical Artist Morris Khan

IEEE COMMUNICATIONS MAGAZINE is published bimonthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Headquarters address: IEEE, 345 East 47 Street, New York, NY 10017; telephone (212) 644–7018; Cable ITRIPLEE. Responsibility for the contents rests upon authors of signed articles and not the IEEE or its members. Unless otherwise specified, the IEEE neither endorses nor sanctions any positions or actions

espoused in IEEE COMMUNICATIONS MAGAZINE.

ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION: Sent automatically and without additional cost to members of the Communications Society. Annual subscription rate for nonmembers: \$19.00. Single copy: \$3.00 for members and \$6.00 for nonmembers.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS: Please use MOVING? card in back of magazine. Change of address must be ived one month before issue is mailed.

EDITORIAL CORRESPONDENCE: Address to Editor, IEEE COMMUNICATIONS MAGAZINE, c/o Carol Lof at Headquarters address

COPYRIGHT AND REPRINT PERMISSIONS: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy beyond the limits of U.S. Copyright law for private use of patrons those post-1977 articles that carry a code on the bottom of the first page provided the per copy fee indicated in the code is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center. For other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write to Staff Director, Publishing Services, at IEEE Headquarters. All rights reserved. Copyright® 1981 by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.

SUBSCRIPTIONS, orders, address changes-IEEE Service Center, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ

ADVERTISING: Advertising is accepted at the discretion of the publisher. Address correspondence to Ms. Carol Lof, IEEE COMMUNICATIONS MAGAZINE, 345 East 47 Street, New York, NY 10017.

Printed in U.S.A. Second-class postage paid at New York, NY and at additional mailing offices.

Nominations and Elections Board **Recommended Candidates for 1981 Election**

E. E. Sumner President **Bell Laboratories** Vice President Dr. Mischa Schwartz Columbia University

> **Fd Glenner** GTE Automatic Electric Labs.

Vice President— Dr. Paul Green **IBM** Watson Technical **Research Center** Affiars

Affairs

Fred Andrews **Bell Laboratories**

Alain Profit Vice President-International Centre National D'Etude des Teleco, France

> Karl Kummerle IBM, Zurich, Switzerland

Candidates for Members at Large Board of Governors

- 1) Bruce DeMaeyer-Indiana Bell Telephone Co., Indianapolis
- 2) Adam Lender-GTE Lenkurt, Inc., San Carlos, CA
- 3) Sat Tashiro-The Boeing Company, Seattle, WA
- 4) Allen Gersho-University of California, Santa Barbara
- 5) Steve Weinstein-American Express, New York
- 6) Joe Garodnick-Stern Telecommunications Corp., New York
- 7) Bill Tranter–University of Missouri, Rolla
- 8) Dave Messerschmitt-University of California, Berkeley

IEEE Communications Society 1981 Officers

1991 Officers D. L. Schilling, President E. E. Sumer, Vice President W. C. Lindsey, VP—Technical Affairs H. Inose, VP—International Affairs R. J. Jaeger, Jr. Secretary D. L. Solomon, Treasurer R. W. Lucky, Past President

Board of Governors

F. H. Blecher J. H. Davis P. E. Green, Jr. I. M. Jacobs L. Kleinrock J. C. McDonald

E. Nussbaum
R. L. Pickholtz
R. A. Scholtz
J. M. Sipress
R. W. Wyndrum, Jr.
B. J. Yokelson

ØBPA

2