IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS

The IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS is published by the IEEE Photonics Society. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society and will receive the JOURNAL upon payment of the annual Society membership fee of \$30.00 plus \$70.00 member subscription fee. For information write to the IEEE Service Center at the address below. *Member copies of Transactions/Journals are for personal use only*.

IEEE PHOTONICS SOCIETY Board of Governors

M. LIPSON

I. WHITE

2009-2011

S. L. CHUANG

J. KASH

2008–2010 J. Jackel J. M T. Koonen P. V

J. MEYER P. WINZER 2010–2012 Y. Arakawa J. Capmany

M. GLICK L. E. NELSON

Officers

J. J. COLEMAN, President J. MEYER, Secretary-Treasurer J. H. MARSH, Past President TBD President Elect Executive Office—R. A. LINKE, Executive Director

Committees Vice President (Technical Affairs)-A. SEEDS Publications (Continued) F. J. BARTOLI, IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics Editor M. DOWELL. Standards Committee Chair Representatives to Technical Councils & Committees K. R. PARAMESWARAN, Photonics Society Newsletter D. HUTCHINGS, K. BERGMAN, A. GAETA, Joint Council on Quantum Electronics M. EMSLEY. Photonics Society Portal Editor G. K. CHANG, P. SHUMATE, Journal of Lightwave Technology (JLT) Steering Committee I. C. KHOO, R. LINKE. USAC-International Commission on Optics A. NATHAN, IEEE/OSA Journal of Display Technology Editor D. HORSLEY. Sensors Council C. MENONI, IEEE Photonics Journal Editor Technical Committees J. HEIKENFELD, Displays Vice President (Conferences)—K. CHOOUETTE P. F. MCMANAMON, Electro-Optical Sensors & Systems S. L. WOODWARD, Meetings Committee Chair H. MOHSENI, Integrated Optics & Optoelectronics P. DELFYETT, J. COLEMAN, P. JUODAWLKIS, S. A. E. WILLNER, CLEO Steering Committee I. ILEV, Biophotonics N. BERGANO, G. HARVEY, P. IANNONE, B. NYMAN, OFC Steering Committee D. NOVAK, Microwave Photonics A. C. BRYCE, S. DONATI, R. BAETS, CLEO/Europe Steering Committee A. KIRK, Nanophotonics Y. NAKANO, P.-K. A. WAI, CLEO/Pacific Rim Steering Committee Y. DING, Nonlinear Optics TBD, Photonics Society Annual Meeting Steering Committee P. WINZER, Optical Communications Vice President (Membership & Regional Activities D. MOSS, Optical Fiber & Planar Waveguide Technology —Americas)—A. HELMY D. PLANT, Optical Interconnects & Processing Systems Vice President (Membership & Regional Activities J. C. CARTLEDGE, Optical Networks and Systems -Europe, Mid-East, & Africa)- R. BAETS A. HELMY, Optoelectronic Materials & Processing Vice President (Finance & Administration)- F. J. BARTOLI M.-Y. SHIH, Optoelectronic Packaging, Manufacturing & Reliability H. S. HINTON, Awards & Lecturers Committee J. DAVID, Photodetectors & Imaging A. E. WILLNER, Constitution & Bylaws A. C. BRYCE, Semiconductor Lasers TBD, Photonics Society Fellows Evaluation Committee H. NAKANO, Short Wavelength and High Power Lasers F. J. BARTOLI, Finance Committee R. SHORI, Solid State Lasers J. FOUQUET, IEEE Technology Policy Council Chair D. E. LEAIRD, Ultrafast Optics & Electronics E. D. HINKLEY, Committee on Transportation & Technology Policy Vice President (Publications)-RODNEY TUCKER M. TOBIN, Energy Policy C. CHANG-HASNAIN, IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology Editor A. YANG, Committee on Communications & Information Policy EL-HANG LEE, IEEE Photonics Technology Letters Editor M. M. SOKOLOWSKI, R&D Policy R. LANG, IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics Editor R. WAYNANT, Medical Technology Policy

IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS-FIL BARTOLI, Editor (2010-2011)

IEEE Officers

MOSHE KAM, President GORDON W. DAY, President-Elect ROGER D. POLLARD, Secretary HAROLD FLESCHER, Treasurer PEDRO A. RAY, Past President TARIQ S. DURRANI, Vice President, Educational Activities DAVID A. HODGES, Vice President, Publication Services and Products HOWARD E. MICHEL, Vice President, Member and Geographic Activities STEVE M. MILLS, President, Standards Association DONNA L. HUDSON, Vice President, Technical Activities RONALD G. JENSEN, President, IEEE-USA

HIROSHI IWAI, Director, Division I

IEEE Executive Staff

DR. E. JAMES PRENDERGAST, Executive Director & Chief Operating Officer

THOMAS SIEGERT, Business Administration MATTHEW LOEB, Corporate Activities DOUGLAS GORHAM, Educational Activities BETSY DAVIS, SPHR, Human Resources CHRIS BRANTLEY, IEEE-USA ALEXANDER PASIK, Information Technology PATRICK MAHONEY, Marketing CECELIA JANKOWSKI, Member and Geographic Activities ANTHONY DURNIAK, Publications Activities JUDITH GORMAN, Standards Activities MARY WARD-CALLAN, Technical Activities

IEEE Periodicals

Transactions/Journals Department

Staff Director: FRAN ZAPPULLA

Editorial Director: DAWN MELLEY Managing Editor: MARTIN J. MORAHAN Production Director: PETER M. TUOHY Journals Coordinator: GEORGE CRISCIONE

ung Eunor: Minkritt 5. Mokritinit

IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS is published bimonthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society/Council, or its members. **IEEE Corporate Office:** 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997. **IEEE Operations Center:** 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854-4141. **NJ Telephone:** +1 732 981 0060. **Price/Publication Information:** Individual copies: IEEE Members \$25.00 (first copy only), nonmembers \$208.00 per copy. (Note: Postage and handling charge not included.) Member and nonmember subscription prices available upon request. **Copyright and Reprint Permissions:** Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy for private use of patrons, provided the per-copy fee indicated in the code at the bottom of the first page is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. For all other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write to Copyrights and Permissions Department, IEEE Publications Administration, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854-4141. Copyright © 2011 by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at New York, NY, and at additional mailing offices. **Postmaster:** Send address changes to IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, IEEE, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854-4141. GST Registration No. 125634188. CPC Sales Agreement #40013087. Return undeliverable Canada addresses to: Pithey Bowes IMEX, P.O. Box 4332, Stanton Rd., Toronto, ON M5W 3J4, Canada. IEEE prohibits discrimination, harassment and bullying. For more information visit http://www.ieee.org/nondiscrimination. Printed in U.S.A.

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/JSTQE.2011.2176437