

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE

The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society is an organization, within the framework of the IEEE, with principal professional interest in the field of nuclear science and nuclear instrumentation. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society and will receive this Transactions upon payment of the annual Society membership fee of \$5.00. For information on joining write to the IEEE at the address below.

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE

J. A. Martin, President J. A. Coleman, Secretary

H. W. VanNess, Vice President

Terms Expiring: 1974
R. L. Butenhoff
R. S. Larsen
J. A. Martin

Terms Expiring: 1975
F. A. Kirsten
H. A. Thomas
H. W. Van Ness

Terms Expiring: 1976
S. E. Harrison
Q. A. Kerns
C. B. Wharton

Terms Expiring: 1977
J. P. Blewett
R. S. Caldwell
I. L. Fowler
J. R. Roth

R. F. Pruett, Treasurer

IEEE TRANSACTIONS® ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE

R. F. Shea, Editor

J. A. Coleman, Associate Editor T. J. Higgins, Book Review Editor

Technical Committee Chairmen*

J. P. Blewett, Particle Accelerator Science & Technology H. A. Thomas, Reactor Instrumentation and Control Robert E. McCoskey, Radiation Effects Sanford Wagner, Nuclear Instruments and Detectors J. L. Shohet, Plasma Sciences & Applications R. G. Mills, Fusion Technology

- *Ex-officio with vote
- **Ex-officio without vote

Ex-Officio (with vote)
Technical Committee Chairmen
Past Chairman—A. W. Snyder

Functional (Standing) Committee Chairmen**

R. F. Shea, Publications & Editor-in-Chief

J. F. Osborn, Newsletter

W. W. Managan, Membership

A. J. Stripieka, Awards

L. Costrell, Annual Meetings

A. W. Snyder/L. Shohet, Nominating

R. F. Pruett, Finance

H. W. VanNess, Alternate TAB Representative

R. S. Larsen, Member Education & Continued Professional Development

W. E. Price, Chapter Developments

J. B. Kuper, Fellows

J. Forster, Standards Liaison Representative

Ex-Officio (without vote)
Standing Committee Chairmen
Chapter Chairmen

THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, INC.

Officers

JOHN J. GUARRERA, President
JOHN D. RYDER, Vice President
ARTHUR P. STERN, Vice President, Regional Activities
ROBERT F. COTELLESSA, Vice President, Technical Activities

Frank S. Barnes, Vice President, Publication Activities SEYMOUR CAMBIAS, Jr., Secretary JOSEPH K. DILLARD, Treasurer

Headquarters Staff

Donald G. Fink, Executive Director

Elwood K. Gannett, Director, Publishing Services William J. Keyes, Director, Administrative Services John M. Kinn, Director, Educational Services Charles F. Stewart, Jr., Director, Member & Field Services Betty J. Stillman, Executive Assistant to the Executive Director
Richard M. Emberson, Director, Technical Services
Edwin D. MacDonald, Conference Services
Sava I. Sherr, Standards

Editorial Department

H. James Carter, Manager, Editorial Services
Senior Editors: Nancy B. Budde, Ann H. Burgmeyer, Carolyne Elenowitz, Gail S. Ferenc, Nela Rybowicz
Associate Editors: Clara Feger, Helen S. Goldman, Trumbull Rogers
Special Publications Supervisor: Eleanor Maul

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE is published bimonthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc., 345 East 47 Street, New York, N.Y. 10017. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society, or its members. This journal is available in either microfiche or printed form. Individual copies may be purchased at \$12.00 (first copy only) by IEEE members and \$24.00 per copy by nonmembers. Annual subscription price: IEEE members, dues plus Society fee. Price for nonmembers available on request. Abstracting is permitted with mention of source. All rights, including translation, are reserved by the IEEE. Requests for republication permission should be addressed to the IEEE Editorial Department, 345 East 47 Street, New York, N.Y. 10017. Copyright © 1974 by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Printed in U.S.A. Second-class postage paid at New York, N.Y., and at additional mailing offices.