### IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE

The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society is an organization, within the framework of the IEEE, of members with principal professional interest in the field of nuclear science and nuclear instrumentation. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society and will receive this TRANSACTIONS upon payment of the annual Society membership fee of \$50.00. For information on joining, write to the IEEE at the address below. *Member copies of Transactions/Journals are for personal use only*.

## ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE

fficers

President Vice President Secretary Treasurer Past President E. J. HOFFMAN W. W. Moses A. M. DAWSON LARSEN E. J. LAMPO P. S. WINOKUR UCLA School of Medicine Office of Senator Reid Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Stanford Linear Univ. of Calif. 10833 Le Conte Ave. Mailstop 55-121 Accelerator Ctr. Lawrence Berkeley 528 Hart Senate Office B2-096 CHS 1 Cyclotron Road P.O. Box 4349 Laboratory, 80-101 Building Los Angeles, CA 90095 Berkeley, CA 94720 Washington, DC 20510 Berkeley, CA 94720 Stanford, CA 94309 (310) 825-8851 (650) 926-2748 (510) 486-6779 (202) 224-3542 (510) 486-4432 FAX: (310) 825-4517 FAX: (510) 486-4768 FAX: (650) 926-5124 FAX: (510) 486-5800 FAX: (202) 224-7327 e.lampo@ieee.org ieee\_ejh@mednet.ucla.edu wwmoses@lbl.gov a.dawson@ieee.org p.winokur@ieee.org

## **Technical Committee Chairmen**

(see directory)

Nuclear Instruments Computer Applications in Fusion Technology Nuclear and Medical Imaging Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Nuclear and Plasma Sciences P. J. HEITZENROEDER and Detectors Sciences R. M. KEYSER B. C. BROWN C. BOULIN R. J. JASZCZAK Pulsed Power Science Plasma Science and Radiation Effects Radiation Instrumentation Applications D. G. PLATTETER R. M. KEYSER and Technology T. W. HUSSEY R. E. REINOVSKY

**Functional Committee Chairmen** 

Communications Conference Policy Awards Chapter and Fellow Candidate Finance Local Activities P. N. CLOUT R. S. LARSEN H. L. FLESCHER I. ALEXEFF Evaluation V. G. PRICE O ISHIHARA Students and Careers Membership Newsletter Nominations Publications Transnational V. G. PRICE W. K. DAWSON P. S. WINOKUR P. V. Dressendorfer K. A. CONNOR and E. H. M. HEIJNE E. SCHAMILOGLU

### NPSS Liaison Representatives in IEEE Committees

Transactions on Medical Imaging Steering Committee
A. B. BRILL and R. J. JASZCZAK
Professional Activities Council for Engineers (PACE)
J. R. FORSTER

#### NPSS Liaison Representatives to IEEE-USA Committees

Distinguished Research and TAB Newsletters TAB New Technology Energy Policy Development Policy TBA Lecturer Program W K DAWSON Directions V. G. PRICE P. S. WINOKUR E. J. HOFFMAN TAB New Technology Directions TAB Awards Social Implications Sensors Council Standards Liaison of Technology W. W. Moses J. R. FORSTER E. J. HOFFMAN and Recognition R. S. LARSEN E. H. M. HEIJNE R. J. JASZCZAK

## IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE

P. V. Dressendorfer, Editor-in-Chief, NPSS P. V. Dressendorfer, Transactions Editor (see inside back cover) J. D. Valentine, NSS Conference Editor
E. J. Hoffman, MIC Conference Editor J.-P. Duffey, RTC Conference Editor

# THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, INC.

Officers

ARTHUR W. WINSTON, President
W. CLEON ANDERSON, President-Elect
MARC T. APTER, Vice President, Regional Activities
MARC T. APTER, Vice President, Regional Activities
MARC T. APTER, Vice President, IEEE Standards Association
PEDRO A. RAY, Treasurer
MICHAEL S. ADLER, Past President
JOHN W. STEADMAN, President, IEEE-USA
JOHN W. STEADMAN, President, IEEE-USA

HAROLD L. FLESCHER, Director, Division IV — Electromagnetics and Radiation

## **Executive Staff**

DANIEL J. SENESE, Executive Director

DONALD CURTIS, Human Resources
ANTHONY DURNIAK, Publications Activities
JUDITH GORMAN, Standards Activities
CECELIA JANKOWSKI, Regional Activities
BARBARA COBURN STOLER, Educational Activities

MATTHEW LOEB, Corporate Strategy & Communications RICHARD D. SCHWARTZ, Business Administration W. THOMAS SUTTLE, IEEE-USA MARY WARD-CALLAN, Technical Activities SALLY A. WASELIK, Information Technology

IEEE Periodicals
Transactions/Journals Department
Staff Director: FRAN ZAPPULLA

Editorial Director: DAWN MELLEY Production Director: ROBERT SMREK
Managing Editor: WILLIAM A. COLACCHIO Senior Editor: HELENE DORTHEIMER

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE (ISSN 0018-9499) is published bimonthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society/Council, or its members. IEEE Corporate Office: 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997. IEEE Operations Center: 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. NJ Telephone: +1 732 981 0060. Price/Publication Information: Individual copies: IEEE members \$20.00 (first copy only), nonmembers \$158.00 per copy. (Note: Postage and handling charge not included.) Member and nonmember subscription prices available on request. Available in microfiche and microfilm. Copyright and Reprint Permissions: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy for private use of patrons, provided the per-copy fee indicated in the code at the bottom of the first page is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. For all other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write to Copyrights and Permissions Department, IEEE Publications Administration, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. Copyright address changes to IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON NUCLEAR SCIENCE, IEEE, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. GST Registration No. 125634188. Printed in U.S.A.